rabbit-373693_1280

Suddenly everything is different. People have drawn conclusions, drifted apart, returned home. I stand in a world of uncertainty. Things change. All of the time. I am constantly trying to grasp, adjust and adapt. It is exhausting.

Shifting equations leave me nauseous, craving for that warm me-shaped dent I left in my bed this morning.

Economists have this caveat that they love (and I’m one so I am fascinated by it as well), “all else being equal” or “ceteris paribus” if you insist on being pedantic. And this constant condition is key to forecasting, as setting a constant enables scientists or investigators to dig deeper into other interesting areas. The constant tethers them yet enables their ideas to take flight. Ah, that kind of equation I could begin to love. And economics isn’t such a dull subject after all now, is it?

In the messy equation of life, Jesus is constant. The Bible tells me so (Big hug if that is one of your favourite songs too!). He holds me firm and assures me that He will never leave nor forsake me (Deut 31:6), and that allows me a unbelievable freedom.

In his warm graceful embrace, I recieve permission to go out into this world and explore. Without a constant, an equation is usually a random mix of confusing values yielding inconclusive, unreliable results. Without Him, I am a bumbling mess.

The constant nature of God’s love dulls the chaos and sets me on a clear path toward clarity of thought and action.

It is like a root, allowing me to spread my arms and reach toward the heavens. He not only allows me freedom but provides me with direction and strength.

I am held front-centre in His gaze (Ps. 32:8) and etched in the palm of His hand (Is 49:16).

Jesus being who He is, unchanging and forever, that is a truth I can hold on to. Because He held me first. And holds all things together.

Linking up with Five Minute Friday today.

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday {Hold}

  1. Beautifully written! And I do get that “it is exhausting” part about constant change. But LOVE the thought that perhaps Jesus is the constant tether that draws us back in to His perfect love that casts out all fear and gives us peace. It is that thought from your writing that will be close to my heart today!

    Blessings,
    Tammy ~@~

  2. “Without a constant, an equation is usually a random mix of confusing values yielding inconclusive, unreliable results. Without Him, I am a bumbling mess.”
    Thank you for this reminder that regardless of what is going on around me he remains. He holds me.
    patty

Leave a Reply

