You are certainly not who they think you are. Sometimes you aren’t even who YOU think you are. You are only who God says you are. And God doesn’t make mistakes. I struggled with this truth a while ago. People who I believed with all my heart let me down. They seemed more intent on proving that they were above me, more talented, more true, filled with more goodness. They picked on my faults and brought up things from long ago and I realized that grudges had been harbored for a long time.

paper-166853_1280

 

It led me to a place of darkness, defensiveness and unrest. I felt cornered and alone. So I turned to the One Person who I knew wouldn’t think I was crazy because He was so crazy about me. My Savior. I prayed, became more conscious of my blessings and have reached a place where I am growing from all of the pain. I can appreciate that I had to go through that experience because it affirmed Jesus’ unconditional love for me.

heart-291104_1280

 

I have been working to eliminate these negative influences from my life and focusing on God’s truth. It is an ongoing struggle, because some words can create deep wounds. But with the armor of my Savior’s truth, I’m stronger and happier. The is a great moment in the fabulous movie Julie & Julia when a french woman who is conducting a cooking test tells Julia that she doesn’t have any ‘real’ talent. Right when she is trying to hard. And I love Julia’s response. She sticks her tongue out at her. How incredibly immature, you might think. But I admire her. For having faith. And for being resilient. Most importantly, for being sure of the truth and not letting anybody (even someone who might seem like an expert) tell her otherwise.

Don’t believe what they tell you.

Now these are truths you can and must believe. Blessings you inherit.

You are fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14)

You are God’s handiwork (Ephesians 2:10)

There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus (Romans 8:1)

Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you (1 Corinthians 6: 19)

For he chose us in Christ before the foundation of the world that we may be holy and unblemished in his sight in love (Ephesians 1:4)

For freedom Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not be subject again to the yoke of slavery (Galatians 5:1)

For you were at one time darkness, but now you are light in the Lord (Ephesians 5:8)

We know, brothers and sisters loved by God, that he has chosen you.. (1 Thessalonians 1:4)

You have been filled in him, who is the head over every ruler and authority (Colossians 2:10)

 

Take heart, friends. You are a masterpiece. Loved by the only One who grasps the greatest, truest Love.

Don’t you forget it.

 

2 thoughts on “You are not who they think you are

  1. I too have had a lot of negatives … since I started writing on my website more have come out to hurt. Maybe it’s just that as I draw closer to God through it I am noticing it in the Light.

    Been learning the last year that the sometimes we must move on and wipe the dust off our feet. I am sure Jesus understands our dilemmas.

    Sadly, much of the tension I’ve experienced has come from others in ministry and other writers of blogs. Ironic at best.

    Your blog comes across as genuine in encouragement as I read it. Also in your pursuit fur The Lord and not platform and blog connecting for the sheer fact of audience building. I like that because I’ve seen so many fall into that trap.
    Blessings to you!
    Heather

    1. Heather, I cannot even begin to express how touched I am by your lovely comments. Firstly, thank you! for taking the time to visit and for expressing your opinions and sharing your experiences.

      I agree with you, I too am sure Jesus (and perhaps, only He) really understands how we feel. It’s a huge learning opportunity because it allows us to rely more on Him than anybody else around us.

      Again, I am so so so grateful to you for your encouraging words. They have brightened my day and motivated me to write more 🙂

      Blessings and prayers,
      Pritika

Leave a Reply

