Over the past couple of weeks, God has begun to draw me closer to His heart and speak to me in personal ways. I cant remember a time not knowing God or going to church. But my relationship with God was more like a faraway friend, occasional guest or long lost relative. I loved Him but that love was shallow. Blush. I would experience His grace, witness His miracles in my life, be overwhelmed and then get lost in the everydays again.

I had begun a new job a couple of months ago (more on that later) and I was struggling to find time to pray and meet God. I felt a strong need for Him and I wanted to know Him more intimately. This was all the work of the Spirit- the Lord had begun in me the work of tranformation of the mind, healing of the body and a spiritual awakening. But I couldn’t find the time.

I was the new girl at work and tried hard to win the approval of my superiors and admiration of my colleagues. I was exhausted, neglected my family, physical well-being and unfortunately, Jesus.

But I reasoned with Him that I didn’t have the time. Yet, I felt a slow and intentional response ‘You do.’ I gradually came to recognize that I had 45 hours of commute time that I could devote to discovering God right at the start of the day. This was heaven’s giving. As I began to read my bible and pray during this time, work became stressful and office politics were draining my energy. I fastened my life to the promises of God and kept moving. 

And his promises are always true. Seek first the Kingdom of Heaven and all the rest will be added to you. The Lord never fails. 

Things at the office began to turn around. The superiors who mocked me were replaced with friends. The peers who stomped ahead by relying on human strength were pulled back and the Lord pushed me centre stage to a place of learning and recognition. All in his time. Image 

It isn’t the destination that is the gift. It is the journey and knowing that He who holds the world carries me on every journey.

 

 

Join more of Jesus’ loved daughters at holleygerth.com for generous helpings of Coffee for your heart.

5 thoughts on “Jesus Journeys

  1. Yes, the journey is truly the gift. I am grateful to have come by to regain a boost from your words.
    Caring through Christ, ~ linda

    1. Hi Linda, thank you very much for reading and for your heartwarming comment. I love your word for 2014, and the beautiful promise that waits for us obedient children “Your eyes will behold the king in his beauty; they will see a land that stretches afar”.
      I look forward to discovering your blog more and more 🙂
      Blessings and love, Pritika

  2. Oh you are so right… it IS the journey. And the blessings we find along the way are what make up our testimony… our path to love others as ourselves. God is great all the time and we humans tend to forget that when things are tough.
    Blessings,
    Heather
    @40yearWanderer.com

    1. Hi Heather,

      Thank you very much for reading my blogpost and for your lovely comment. God is so good, ALL the time. There have been so many times that I have been short-sighted by roadbumps, looking down and trying not to fall when I should have been looking up and trusting God. But God in His infinite grace forgives and our journeys always lead to blessings that are far more wonderful than we can ever dream or imagine.

      Blessings and love in Christ,
      Pritika

Leave a Reply

