I stroke this memory gently. Of watching Pocahontas sing ‘Just around the river bend’ enthusiastically, beautifully, fearlessly. And suddenly – reaching a crossroad. She then calls out to her ‘dream-giver’. And with a great amount of trust, follows her heart. This is my most favourite movie of all time because of the beautiful way it encourages dreams, courage, love and strangely, quite unexpectedly, the power of God.

No path is perfect. Frankly, nothing and nobody except our maker, is perfect. Yet, we struggle with this truth. Believing that a tough circumstance, or a roadbump is a punishment. We wear guilt and regret like glasses and use them to coat everything in sight. I’ve done this to myself too many times. Believed the awful lies that ‘There’s no way God can get me out of this’ and ‘How am I supposed to believe that I will fulfil His plans and purposes for my life?’

Then I tasted this delicious blessing from his Word.

Jeremiah 29:11-14

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back from captivity. I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.

These verses are heavenly light searching out our deepest darkest fears about our future.

The Lord knows His plans for us. We don’t know them, our parents don’t know them, our friends don’t know them, and our partners have no clue either. But the good thing is that we don’t have to know. HE knows. And if He who holds the world, holds my future thats more than enough for me.

I also love the imagery in the promise that God will gather me from all of the unhappiness and struggles. I sleep sound and dream in multicolour when I bathe in the love of this verse.

It didn’t soak in me long enough before. I blink too many times, re-read like a doubting Thomas.

Yet, my life is witness. God blessed the broken road, the winding paths, and the wandering rivers of my life. And no matter which path I chose, He just never left. Just as he promised. I ducked trying to hide, wrestled, played hard-to-get, was downright arrogant and inflated with pride. I have made daily mistakes, sinned dirty, cried wolf, whined like a baby.

And in all my childish antics, I have been disciplined but never forsaken.

I have always been led to a higher, glorious place. The House of my Father God.

Please remember these truths, loving daughter of Christ.

Your choices may have been poor, but you are an invaluable treasure.

You may have stomped off in anger, frustration or disappointment but you have never been far from God’s love for you.

You may feel unrecognisable, but your identity is forever secure in God.

Your list of sins may be long but the grace of the Lord is limitless.

Bind these truths to your one-of-a-kind heart. You are redeemed. God will bless EVERYTHING.
You can never be so far away that God will not bring you back to his purpose for you. He who sees and knows everything can and will do the impossible.
Your purpose will be fulfilled in God’s time. It is never too late for the Grace of God to rain beautiful on you.

Good things are ‘just around the river bend’. Hold on tight to your dream-giver. And expect to witness blessings that blow your mind away.

Leave a Reply

